VetClick Discussion Forum

Awkward Situation!

Posted by Loulou15 
Awkward Situation!
March 24, 2010 01:47AM
Hi,

I am currently a student of Egyptology and Ancient History at the University of Wales, Swansea. Although i love my degree topic, i find myself pulled back to my original plan of becoming a Veterinary Surgeon, or at least having a career in that area. However I am now approaching my third year of my undergraduate degree and of course it would be a waste to remove myself from it now. My partner and I are looking to move to Australia after we graduate in 2011, so i was hoping to study Veterinary Medicine at the University Of Melbourne. Having looked into this (and awaiting a reply from the faculty) the easiest option for me is to do a graduate degree 'Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM). However i am unsure whether my out of topic degree will count for anything and they will let me do a prostgrad in this area??!! I understand it is not biological science in orientation, but as I am on for a 1st in my degree, surely this shows my ability to adapt to degree level. I am currently going to do a home learning course in A-level Biology, is there anything else i would need or that is recommended? I have procured a place at my local safari park as a volunteer over the summer and I am also hoping to complete an Animal Care Diploma as well as a Level 3 Animal Care Award (I will also receive a level 3 NCFE Award certificate of achievement, meaning it is the equivalent to A-levels). What else can i do, if anything? Do you think my chances are slim?

Any help is very much appreciated,

Thank you

Louise Roberts
Re: Awkward Situation!
March 24, 2010 08:16AM
Hi, Louise,

I cannot personally help you here, but I have posted your message for others to read who may be able to offer some advice.

W
March 24, 2010 03:32PM
Hi Walter,