VetClick Discussion Forum

Re: becoming a vet

Posted by Claire Swift - Wigan 
Claire Swift - Wigan
January 03, 2009 01:37PM
Hi there,

I am looking for some advice. I am 33 years of age and I am looking for a career change.

I am currently a secondary science teacher (biology and chemistry - KS4 and physics KS3) and feel after all my hard training my passion still remains with animals. I am researching the possibility of training to be a vet.

What are my options as a mature student?
I have a 2:1 Hons in Sports Science Degree.
Can I train part time?
Can I do home study whilst working? Etc.

There are some websites that are offering home study courses. Are these courses, in the long term beneficial?

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards
Claire
January 03, 2009 03:19PM
Hi, Clare,

To become a vet in the UK you have to have obtained a degree in veterinary medicine and surgery at one of the 7 UK universities which have veterinary schools approved by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (London, Cambridge, Bristol, Liverpool, Nottingham, Edinburgh and Glasgow). That degree entitles you to register with the RCVS as M(ember)RCVS and work as a veterinary surgeon. The courses are all full time, 7 years at Cambridge, 5 1/2 years at London, 5years at the others.
The pressure on admissions at all the schools is quite high, and you would need to enquire at each one to see if they would be prepared to accept you as a mature graduate student.
There are other courses available in Animal Science at some universities, but these are not registrable with the RCVS, and do not allow you to practice veterinary medicine in the UK.
You have some formidable obstacles to overcome to realise your ambition.

W.
January 04, 2009 01:13PM
Walter Beswick Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Hi, Clare,
>
> To become a vet in the UK you have to have
> obtained a degree in veterinary medicine and
> surgery at one of the 7 UK universities which have