VetClick Discussion Forum

Frontline allergy

Posted by Laura 
Laura
Frontline allergy
March 24, 2007 01:57PM
Hi,
I have been giving my dog front line for 3 months. I gave hime his usual dose yesterday and he seems to have had a bad reaction. he had lumps which keep going up and down under his fur, his skin went quite pink and was very restless. it seems to have calmed down now but was wondering if he should have some antihistamines? it is right you can give dogs benadryl? if so how much?

thanks
Re: Frontline allergy
March 24, 2007 03:58PM
Hi, Laura,

This sort of reaction is very unusual, and it should be reported. If you got the Frontline from your vet, tell him so that he can complete a 'yellow form' to send to the VMD.
The reaction will almost certainly go down very quickly without treatment.
I think that you should replace the Frontline with a different product when his next treatment is due

W
Laura
March 24, 2007 04:35PM
Thank you Walter, will do.
Bren
August 21, 2007 10:22PM
My 9 month old Collie had a severe allergic reaction to Frontline. His skin became red and inflamed surrounding the site of the application and his hair started falling out and two months latter is still in this condition, The site is still red, oozing, and the hair continues to fall out. The area is about 5 inches surrounding the site of the second application. I did not notice these simptoms following the first application of Frontline but the second application produced this effect. My dog has showed no indication that the area is itchy.
I called the company who produces Frontline and also allerted the Vet who proscribed the product. The makers of Frontline offered no remedy for me to try but told me that it would take 3 months for the product to leave the dogs system.
I am now using Revolution and hoping the the very visable effects of my dogs reaction to Frontline to resolve itself.
August 22, 2007 07:39AM
Hi, Bren,