VetClick Discussion Forum

Vet from Brazil

Posted by Julio 
Vet from Brazil
September 29, 2005 12:20PM
Hi,

I am Julio and i am a high school student, i would like to work in UK as a vet after i finish college but now im wondering if there is any possibility to that happen.I've been searching about it, and i found out that i have to test at the rcvs to get a license.
I would like you to tell me if i will be welcome to work in UK after i get te RCVS License, or if its gonna be any resistence because im from another country.
I really ask you to tell me the truth, because my college perspectives will be based on what you tell me.(i dont know if ill study international trade or veterinary)

Thank you very much

Julio

Re: Vet from Brazil
September 29, 2005 12:22PM
Dear Julio,

In reply to your e-mail enquiring about working in the UK:

If you do pass the MRCVS examination of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons you should find no difficulty in getting work in the UK, especially if you are able to show that you have a reasonably good standard of English.
You will be able to get details of the MRCVS syllabus and examinations from:
Ms Freda Andrews, RCVS, Belgravia House, 62-64 Horseferry Road, LONDON, SW1X."
January 13, 2006 09:33AM
Hi, Julio,

If you are a graduate ofa veterinary school in the EU, you will NOT need to take the MRCVS examination as Graeme suggests. You will, however, be required to register with the RCVS ( a formality) before you may work in the UK.

I would suggest that your best work opportunities would be with one of the larger Animal Welfare organisations, such as the Blue Cross or the PDSA. You would gain plenty of experience, you would get a good salary, not be under the commercial pressures of general practice, have the support of colleagues, (many of whom are also non-UK graduates), and, in the case of the Blue Cross, be EXPECTED to study for an RCVS Certificate.

Good luck.

Walter Beswick
cosmas
veterinary nursing working experience