VetClick Discussion Forum

Vet Students

Posted by Aoife 
Vet Students
January 21, 2004 02:18PM
I'm a 3rd year vet student in Vienna, Austria. If there are any other vet students out there who would like to get in contact and have a bit of a chat, I'd be glad to hear from you!!

Re: Vet Students
March 07, 2004 05:07PM
hi,
i am sorry to bother you! but i gathered as you are a vet student you could help me!

i am a 13 yrs old, who luvz animals. and are hoping to become a vet nurse, and i was wondering if you could help me wit my options!
and also wat could help me to my sucess! eg. work experience etc!

i have to pick (the options) by 19th march 2004!

so if you cold reply very soon i would be very grateful!

thankyou

patchy!

i love animals!
May 02, 2004 11:18AM
Hi I think I may be a bit late in replying to your message, but to become a veterinary nurse there are a few options open to you. Some people I know have finished at GCSE level at school and gone on to do NVQs and training to become a veterinary nurse at a local college or such like. Other friends of mine have gone on to A level and then gone to university to try and get a degree in Veterinary Nursing (& Practice Management). Bristol university, the Royal Veterinary College with Middlesex uni and some other unis that you can find through the course search at www.ucas.ac.uk . If you email the admissions departments in each case, they will be able to tell you what they are looking for. Ive recently applied to the UK vet schools (for Veterinary Medicine to become a Veterinary Surgeon) and have four offers. I believe that my success was due to the amount of work experience I had done and how I was able to talk about each of my placements at interview. Try and get some regular work in a veterinary practice e.g. sat mornings, and try and get to some stables/kennels/farms etc for a day or two at each. This will show that you are determined that this is the career for you.