VetClick Discussion Forum

Staff nurse - veterinary nurse

Posted by Lara 
Lara
Staff nurse - veterinary nurse
September 19, 2007 10:28AM
Hi,

I am currently a staff nurse working on a busy surgical ward. I have been qualified 3 years but have been working with people since i was 15. My dad and brother are farriers and my mum teaches carriage driving, I have grown up with lots of animals, from horses to hamsters! I really loved my job but have recently become really unhappy and have always wanted to work with animals. I am 24 and feel I should really follow my heart and do what i am passionate about.

I live in a rented house so would need to think about how i could do this finacially too. I have 9 GCSE's, Advanced GNVQ in Health and Social Care and Advanced Diploma in Adult Nursing. I'd really appreciate any advice as I dont really know how to procede,

Thankyou

Lara
Re: Staff nurse - veterinary nurse
September 19, 2007 01:51PM
Hi Lara,

I really think that you are over-qualified to become a veterinary Nurse (VN) and i doubt if your qualificateions would exempt you from any part of the veterinarynursing exams.
I suggest that you get in touch with Libby Earle at the Royal College of veterinary Surgeons. She is charge of the Vet Nurse department, and herself has human nursing qualifications I believe. www.rcvs.org.uk or libby.earle@rcvs.org.uk
W
Bea x
Picking Options To Be A Vet .
January 27, 2010 07:11PM
Hello,