VetClick Discussion Forum

Qualifications needed to become a vet?

Posted by Alina 
Alina
Qualifications needed to become a vet?
March 31, 2011 06:09PM
Hello,
I am currently studying my A-levels in year 13 and have applied for Bioveterinary Sciences at university starting in September. Currently my AS grades stand at:

A in Biology
A in Chemistry
A in Philosophy and
high C in Physics

my predicted grades for my overall A-levels are:

A* in Biology
A in Chemistry
A in Philosophy and
B in Physics

I achieved A's at GCSE except sciences which I got an A* in. Unfortunately I didn't apply for Veterinary Medicine as I didn't believe my A-level grades would be at all good enough, although I did 3 weeks work experience (1 week in a lab and 2 weeks working in a stables) just incase. I am now regretting not applying for at least one Veterinary Medicine course. After taking some advice from my teachers, I was told to try my best at Bioveterinary Sciences and after that decide whether or not to pursue Veterinary Medicine through Graduate entry. I know that this is very competitive and I was wondering whether I would be rejected straight away because my Physics A-level isn't an A and because I haven't got many A*'s at GCSE? Also, I was wondering how to make myself stand out compared to other candidates. I know I'm thinking several years ahead of myself, but I just want to be as prepared as possible as being in a Veterinary related career is really the only thing I can see myself doing and the only thing I am truly passionate about. Does paid work stand out on an appilcation form, and should I think about taking a few years out before applying for Graduate entry to get some?

On an unrelated note, does anybody know of any Veterinary practices in Central/South East London that could take me for a work placement for 1-2 weeks?

Thanks in advance for all your help (sorry my question is so long!)
Re: Qualifications needed to become a vet?
June 20, 2011 09:43AM