VetClick Discussion Forum

Veterinary nursing apprenticeship career prospects

Posted by JoanJasper 
JoanJasper
Veterinary nursing apprenticeship career prospects
March 29, 2011 01:17PM
I have been looking for a veterinary qualification for some time now and have at long last i've found a suitable placement within walking distance of my home. I do not have the option of pursuing the academic route since I dont have the relevant A levels and the money I would need to invest would be phenomenal - I entertain no illusions whatsoever.
However by going via the apprenticeship route, how do I appear to employers when shoulder to shoulder with university graduates hear. I must also ask what happens afterwards. I have my award and im a fully qualified Veterinary nurse and i'm practising at a surgery, but where can I go from there. I desperately want to become an animal psychologist, but again all the courses are at least 2 hours away by car (3-4 by train) with me having no means of transport (closest one and the only reasonable uni would be Anglia Ruskin Cambridge)
The only way such a degree would be possible would be if I were to move house, but is such a degree worthwhile in terms of career progression? Ahh thats my three questions over and done with - thankyou very much in advance
Re: Veterinary nursing apprenticeship career prospects
June 14, 2011 10:21AM
Hi Joan Jasper