VetClick Discussion Forum

Prerequisite veterinary experience - help!

Posted by Tristan 
Tristan
Prerequisite veterinary experience - help!
March 21, 2011 09:30AM
Hello!

I live in Australia and I'm spending this year working on my application to veterinary school for next year. I'm not sure what the deal is overseas, but at many (not all) vet schools in Australia it doesn't actually matter what you studied beforehand, just how well you did in it. This means that even I could get into vet science - and I have a music degree! This info might be useful info to someone who is looking at applying to international vet schools from a non-science background (you've still got to have stellar marks in whatever degree you did, though).

Anyway, my question regards the requisite experience for veterinary school. This is the really important part of the application for the uni I am applying to. The uni admissions office suggests that applicants find part-time or volunteer work in labs, shelters, farms or clinics. But NO ONE will take me - the labs say they don't take volunteers, the shelters have volunteers coming out their ears and don't want any more, farms don't want people who haven't worked with large animals yet, and apparently clinics will only take people who have educational insurance - eg. school work experience. I've researched, rung and begged every place I can find within driving distance of me. And time is starting to run out before I need to hand in the veterinary experience part of the application. Does anyone have any tips for different types of animal-related establishments to contact, or any way to be more persuasive towards these places that have previously rejected me?

Any help is very appreciated!

ps. I have a certificate qualification in animal handling and husbandry - essentially a pre-vet-nursing qualification. I mention this every time and they still knock me back...
Becsta9
Re: Prerequisite veterinary experience - help!
July 04, 2011 05:14AM