VetClick Discussion Forum

Re: becoming a vet

Posted by Amy 
Amy
March 24, 2010 11:21AM
Hi my name is Amy,
I’m sorry to bother you; I could really use some good advice.
I am hoping you can help as I am facing a dilemma! I am in my last year of sixth form, and having always wanted to be a veterinary surgeon my entire childhood I had previously made - the now admittedly colossal mistake - of taking A-levels which I enjoy/ had talent in (mainly Art, History and English) as opposed to Science options. – As a result of a mixture of poor careers advise and hesitating about something I had always wanted at the wrong time. After attempting to follow through on my choices (I had applied to do Art, - however was feeling incredibly lost and increasingly unhappy about this choice.) I have finally come back round to Veterinary as a career. However, I am overwhelmed with people telling me it is impossible and a mistake. I can assure you that despite not passionately adoring Chemistry and Maths (or Physics for that matter!), I have always been very strong in science subjects getting top grades at GCSE (including an A for maths). I can’t reiterate strongly enough my frustration at being told that I will be unable to pursue a career just because I made the wrong A-level choices a year ago.
Could you share your thoughts, on my situation and the best course of action.
Thank you.(I live in the UK by the way!)
March 24, 2010 01:44PM
Dear Amy,

You hqve no chance at all of getting into a UK Veterinary School without A levels at A or A* grades in Chemistry, Biology and Maths or Physics.
Whoever gave you careers advice, if they were told that you wished to study veterinary science, were totally wrong in their advice. All that it would have taken was a telephone call to the Admissions Dept of any UK University vet school.
Unless you are prepared to cram these subjects I am afraid that you have no chance.

w
March 26, 2010 04:33PM